A Deckhand’s Challenges, Rewards & Proudest Moments: Letters from Amanda, Part 2

14 07 2012

Hey friends – if you’ve been following the story of Amanda, our first-time fisherman guest writer, you may be as eager for her latest update as I’ve been. The frenzied life of a tender deckhand hasn’t allowed much land time (and even less internet access), so we were very lucky to get a quick update from her in the comment thread following her first post. I’m publishing that comment as its own post so you don’t miss her latest. Be well – T

Thank you so much for all of your support all! I am so flattered that you are excited about what I have to say! It’s been about three weeks now and I’ve been so eager to respond to you all and to get another post out. This is the first time I’ve sat down at a computer for more than 5 minutes since I’ve been here. I currently have about a half hour, not enough time to produce a post that is written with the attention that it deserves. I’ve got pages of journals to turn over and will do so as soon as possible! I sincerely appreciate everything you’ve all had to say and wish I could respond to you all individually.

A few quick lists, I’ve got to get this out:

Biggest challenges: KNOTS!!@!!#$#@!, fish tickets and the simple but tedious math that goes along with, learning to sleep in only 3 hour increments, projecting a positive attitude when I secretly want to complain, not belittling myself internally when I mess up, forget, or have to be told and re-told something that seems so simple.

Biggest rewards: a wonderful crew of supportive individuals, cooking for people who are open to creativity and experimentation, endless mountain ranges and morning light, a day off at Baranof Warm Springs, the sheer amount of things to observe and take in, the massive amount of skills and information I’ve learned and will never forget, all the sources of inspiration.

Proudest moments: completing a 21 hour work day, lowering the anchor (using the hydraulics) for the first time, learning the language (the times are fewer and fewer when I look someone in the face after being asked to do something and say “I don’t understand the words that you just said”), finally being able to tell a Coho from a Sockeye from a Pink from a Dog, working a full day, cooking for three, cleaning the galley and sinking in to bed with an aching body and a nourished spirit.

More to come! Thanks and thanks again! Blessings to you all!

– Amanda

 


Actions

Information

5 responses

14 07 2012
Karla

Excellent!

14 07 2012
patriciasands

We’re all pulling for you, Amanda! It sounds like you are getting along just fine!

14 07 2012
Patrick Dixon

Good job! Sounds like the perfect experience. Keep writing those journals! And take photos when you can!
– Pat

15 07 2012
pierrmorgan

I’m seeing those knots fly into formation under the guidance of your deft touch memory. Knot a problem, even in your sleep!

1 10 2012
From Greenhorn to Graduate: Celebrating Amanda’s First Fishing Season « Hooked

[…] when I overheard a young woman  say she wanted to go fishing, her pre-season anticipation, thefirst challenges and triumphs, a mid-season struggle, to these concluding reflections, she’s got a wonderful story and […]